11 West African countries decided to unite against the illegal trade of rosewood trees, especially of hongmu trees (collective name of the endangered species of the rosewood trees) which are of great interest for Chinese furniture manufactures. In order to deal with the illicit trade,  Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo  organized an international conference, where a set of documentation was signed and was made a decision to establish a dialogue with consumer countries, especially with China.